Gear guide
Best Shun knives: Classic, Premier, Dual Core, Sora and Kanso
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
Shun Classic 8" hollow ground chef's knife
VG-MAX core with 68 layers of Damascus cladding is stated in the listing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
Shun Classic Blonde 8" chef's knife, light handle
VG-MAX steel, 68-layer Damascus and a 16 degree edge, matching the Classic spec.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
Shun Premier 8" chef's knife, hammered VG-MAX
The listing states a 16-degree edge on VG-MAX steel with 68 layers of Damascus cladding.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Shun sells the same shapes across several series, so the real choice is the line, not the knife. Classic and Premier share VG-MAX steel with 68 layers of Damascus cladding and a 16 degree edge; they differ in finish and handle. Classic has a D-shaped handle and a smooth blade, while Premier adds a hammered tsuchime finish and a contoured handle. Dual Core moves up to 71 micro-layers of VG10 and VG2 with an octagon handle. Sora and Kanso are the entry points, using VG10 san mai and AUS10A steel, and they come as 3-piece starter sets in this guide. Every listing here states a 16 degree edge, and Shun's listings mention free sharpening and honing. This guide compares the 8 inch chef's knife from each main series plus two starter sets, using only listing facts.
Compare the picks
Shun Classic 8" hollow ground chef's knife- Series
- Classic
- Steel
- VG-MAX, 68-layer Damascus
- Blade length
- 8 in
- Edge angle
- 16 degrees
Shun Premier 8" chef's knife, hammered VG-MAX- Series
- Premier
- Steel
- VG-MAX, 68-layer Damascus
- Blade length
- 8 in
- Edge angle
- 16 degrees
Shun Classic Blonde 8" chef's knife, light handle- Series
- Classic Blonde
- Steel
- VG-MAX, 68-layer Damascus
- Blade length
- 8 in
- Edge angle
- 16 degrees
Shun Sora 3-piece starter set, VG10 san mai- Series
- Sora
- Steel
- VG10 edge, 420J upper (san mai)
- Blade length
- 8 in chef, 6 in utility, 3.5 in paring
- Edge angle
- 16 degrees
Shun Dual Core 8" chef's knife, 71 VG10/VG2 layers- Series
- Dual Core
- Steel
- 71 micro-layers VG10 and VG2
- Blade length
- 8 in
- Edge angle
- 16 degrees
Shun Kanso 3-piece starter set, AUS10A steel- Series
- Kanso
- Steel
- AUS10A high-carbon stainless
- Blade length
- 8 in chef, 6 in utility, 3.5 in paring
- Edge angle
- 16 degrees
| Pick | Series | Steel | Blade length | Edge angle | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Shun Classic 8" hollow ground chef's knife | Classic | VG-MAX, 68-layer Damascus | 8 in | 16 degrees | - | Amazon |
Shun Premier 8" chef's knife, hammered VG-MAX | Premier | VG-MAX, 68-layer Damascus | 8 in | 16 degrees | - | Amazon |
Shun Classic Blonde 8" chef's knife, light handle | Classic Blonde | VG-MAX, 68-layer Damascus | 8 in | 16 degrees | - | Amazon |
Shun Sora 3-piece starter set, VG10 san mai | Sora | VG10 edge, 420J upper (san mai) | 8 in chef, 6 in utility, 3.5 in paring | 16 degrees | - | Amazon |
Shun Dual Core 8" chef's knife, 71 VG10/VG2 layers | Dual Core | 71 micro-layers VG10 and VG2 | 8 in | 16 degrees | - | Amazon |
Shun Kanso 3-piece starter set, AUS10A steel | Kanso | AUS10A high-carbon stainless | 8 in chef, 6 in utility, 3.5 in paring | 16 degrees | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · Shun
Shun Classic 8" hollow ground chef's knife
See price on AmazonShun's best-known Damascus chef's knife: a VG-MAX core under 68 layers with hollow-ground indentations. A dependable pick with free sharpening support.
What the listing offers
- VG-MAX core with 68 layers of Damascus cladding is stated in the listing.
- Hollow-ground indentations are listed for food release while slicing.
- The listing mentions free sharpening and honing support.
Limits to know
- No Rockwell hardness is stated, which makes the core hard to compare with the Miyabi knives.
- A 16-degree edge is less acute than the 9.5 to 12 degrees Miyabi lists.

Pick 2 · Shun
Shun Premier 8" chef's knife, hammered VG-MAX
See price on AmazonA hammered tsuchime gyuto-style chef knife with a VG-MAX core and a stated 16-degree edge. A good fit for cooks who want a Western-feel handle and less food sticking.
What the listing offers
- The listing states a 16-degree edge on VG-MAX steel with 68 layers of Damascus cladding.
- Hammered tsuchime finish is described as reducing drag and food sticking.
- The listing says it is supported by free sharpening and honing.
Limits to know
- HRC is not stated in the listing, so hardness cannot be compared directly.
- Check the current terms of the free sharpening service on the listing before counting on it.

Pick 3 · Shun
Shun Classic Blonde 8" chef's knife, light handle
See price on AmazonThe Classic chef's knife with a blonde Pakkawood D handle and a plain edge. The lowest listed price for a Shun VG-MAX chef's knife in this guide.
What the listing offers
- VG-MAX steel, 68-layer Damascus and a 16 degree edge, matching the Classic spec.
- D-shaped blonde Pakkawood handle, per the listing, for a lighter look.
- Lowest listed price among the VG-MAX chef's knives compared here.
Limits to know
- No hollow ground indentations, unlike the Classic hollow ground version above.
- Hardness and warranty terms are not stated on the listing.

Pick 4 · Shun
Shun Sora 3-piece starter set, VG10 san mai
See price on AmazonThe lowest-priced set here, with Shun's composite blade: a VG10 cutting edge joined to a 420J stainless upper. A budget-minded entry to Japanese knives.
What the listing offers
- Same 8 in, 6 in and 3.5 in lineup as the Shun Classic starter for less money.
- The listing states VG10 at the edge with a 16-degree angle.
- Full-tang polymer handle with a textured grip, per the listing.
Limits to know
- Only the edge section is VG10; the upper blade is 420J stainless.
- No block or storage, and HRC is not stated.

Pick 5 · Shun
Shun Dual Core 8" chef's knife, 71 VG10/VG2 layers
See price on AmazonA different take on Damascus: 71 alternating layers of VG10 and VG2 run all the way to the edge rather than wrapping one core. Comes with a sheath.
What the listing offers
- The listing states 71 alternating micro-layers of high-carbon, high-chromium VG10 and VG2.
- A sheath for storage and transport is included, per the listing.
- Octagon Pakkawood handle is described as suiting both hands.
Limits to know
- Hardness is not stated, which is a gap at this price.
- The 16-degree edge is no finer than the far cheaper Shun Classic.

Pick 6 · Shun
Shun Kanso 3-piece starter set, AUS10A steel
See price on AmazonKanso strips the design back to AUS10A steel and a tagayasan wood handle. This 3-piece set suits cooks who want Shun shapes without Damascus styling.
What the listing offers
- AUS10A high-carbon stainless refined with vanadium and a 16 degree edge, per the listing.
- Full-tang tagayasan handle; the butt doubles as a bottle opener and hanging hook.
- Same chef's, utility and paring trio as the Sora set.
Limits to know
- Costs more than the Sora set for the same three shapes.
- No block or storage is listed; hardness is not stated.
Read before you buy
- Where to buy Japanese knives in the USBuy Japanese knives from authorized dealers, brand stores or Amazon listings sold by the brand. How to check the seller, avoid fakes and keep your warranty.
- What is VG-10 steel and is it goodVG-10 is a Japanese stainless steel with cobalt and vanadium, usually hardened to about HRC 60-61. See why so many Damascus kitchen knives use a VG-10 core.
- Shun vs Wusthof: Japanese edge or German toughnessShun vs Wusthof compared: steel, hardness, edge angle, weight and care, with the Shun Classic and Wusthof Classic 8-inch chef knives side by side.
- Shun vs Miyabi knives: which Japanese brand fits youShun vs Miyabi: VG-MAX at a 16 degree edge against FC61 and SG2 at 9.5 to 12 degrees. Compare steel, hardness, handles, finishes and which series to buy.
- Shun free sharpening and repair: how the service worksHow Shun's free lifetime sharpening and warranty service works as of October 2026: the fee, what Kai repairs, how to ship knives and where to drop them off.
More gear: Brands and lineups
Edge & Haft chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.